Photo Caption

Courtenay Council announces its regional district line-up and other appointments

Nov 10, 2022 | Government, News

By George Le Masurier

Courtenay Council has approved its line-up of councillors to represent the city at the Comox Valley Regional District and other regional boards.

The announcement was made today, Nov. 10, although normally council would have voted on the annual appointments at its inaugural meeting, which was held on Nov. 7. A special meeting was held Tuesday, Nov. 8, to vote on the appointments.

You can find the complete list of Courtenay Council appointments here.

Appointed to the CVRD Board of Directors with five votes each are Councillors Melanie McCollum, Wendy Morin, Will Cole-Hamilton and, with four votes, Doug Hillian. Mayor Bob Wells and councillors Evan Jolicoeur and David Frisch are alternates.

Councillors Hillian, Morin, Coe-Hamilton and Jolicoeur were appointed to the Comox Strathcona Regional Hospital Board, with McCollum, Frisch and Wells as alternates.

Councillors Cole-Hamilton, McCollum, Morin and Mayor Wells will serve on the Comox Strathcona Solid Waste Management Board, with Hillian, Jolicoeur and Frisch as alternates.

The CVRD board meets next week and will elect a chair and vice-chair. Jesse Ketler, of Cumberland, is the current chair, and Area B Director Arzeena Hamir is the current vice-chair. Hamir was defeated in the Oct. 15 elections.





Enter your email address to subscribe to the Decafnation newsletter.
More Government | News

Comox Valley local government elections ramping up for Oct. 15 vote

Comox Valley voters will elect new councilors, mayors, regional district representatives, school board members and Island Trust reps on Oct. 15. Find out who’s running for what … and why. Decafnation returns to shine more light on local government issues and candidates

Share This